Playing with HDR

I thought I’d play around with a program called Photomatix Pro, which allows you to create High Dynamic Range (HDR) images.  It’s a program  I have had for a while, but haven’t really used.  In my (little) experience using it, it’s best to use bracketed photos (three versions of the same photo each with a different exposure).  The bracketed images are compressed to create a final image with vibrant color and saturated high, mid, and low tones.  There’s also an option to augment single photos.  This morning I sat down and played with some recent, unbracketed, photos.  HDR is a popular look right now, much like soft filters and vignettes were in the late 80’s/early 90’s.  It’s not my favorite form of image manipulation, I’m more of a traditionalist and prefer minimally “doctored” photos to the hyper-saturated look of many HDR images.  I strive to use my photography to recreate what I see naturally.  But, it’s still fun to play with from time to time.

Below are the original photos, followed by the HDR version.

Original

HDR

Original

HDR

Original

HDR

Original

HDR

Original

HDR

Original

HDR

Original

HDR

I really only spent a few moments importing the images I wanted and performed a batch change.  I am by no means a pro at this sort of thing, just trying something new and I wanted to share.  I hope you enjoyed it.

One thought on “Playing with HDR

  1. Hi Annie, The pictures are beautiful, I looked and looked at the original versus the HDR and I have to tell you, I like the originals much better in each case. The originals have a depth of color that the HDR’s do not. Of course, I am looking at them on a computer screen, seeing them actually printed up might make a difference.

Leave a Reply

