Fasching

I’m back!  As you can see, I’m getting the hang of Lightroom 5 and have been getting caught up on the stockpile of photos I had accumulated when Aperture crashed on me.  I would have had this post to you sooner, but we took off to Normandy, France for 5 days/4 nights.  I took 19.2G worth of photos while there and I’ll have plenty to share once it’s all sorted and edited.  But before we get to Normandy, I need to get caught up on the past two months.  So, on to the Fasching Parade!

Back in February we joined some friends for a Fasching Parade in the Ramstein Village.  For those who are not familiar, Fasching is a period of celebration (and some times debauchery) before Lent, it’s extremely similar to Mardi Gras in the US.  Some Fasching, or Carnival, parades are quite large and elaborate, lasting for hours.  This one was much smaller, lasting about an hour and was very family friendly.

I loved the Omas sitting in their windows above the crowds.  Occasionally, someone from a float or a group would throw candy to them too, even though they seemed a bit embarrassed for the attention.

Everyone can dress up for the events.  Even if you’re not participating in the parade, observers dress up too.

There was this group of ladies from Edeka, a grocery market, passing out fresh fruit.

But the main attrition is the candy.  And there can be lots of it, so bring a bag or basket, because your pockets will fill up quickly.

But beware of tricksters.  You might think you’re getting a handful of candy tossed your way, and before you know it, you’re covered in confetti!

What’s a parade without a lot of music?  This is one of my children’s favorite groups.  We’ve seen them at a few other events and they’re always fun to watch, often doing German style covers of popular American music.

I’ll end the parade with one of my favorite images from the day.  This woman exuded joy in her playing and it was quite contagious.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this brief (and late) post about Fasching.  I’ll be catching up quickly to our trip, then spread it out over several posts.  We covered a lot of ground, and so, I have a lot to share with you.

One thought on “Fasching

Leave a Reply

