Lison, France

Lison is a small village.  I think I only saw another person three times during our entire stay here.  Just up the road a bit was a larger village with a bakery, charcuterie, ATM, train station, and a few shops.  It was very quiet, except for the church bells, which I never get tired of hearing.  

At night, the church and cemetery are lit up.  I didn’t have my tripod with me so no nighttime shots.

IMG_8569

This was a fun cemetery to walk through.  There were graves here that were 100+ years old mixed with ones that were recent.  It was an interesting mix.  

When The Hubs and I walked over to the church, I was excited we found an open gate to let us in to explore the grounds.  As we made our way to the front of the church, The Hubs called me to the door.  “You’ve got to see this!”  There was a crack between the doors and you could see this amazing light filling the church.  But there was something else as well…
We tried the doors and were surprised to find they were unlocked.  We just had to go in.

Ok, so aside from this breathtaking scene, do you see what sent a momentary thrill through me?

See it (them) yet?

Alright, so if you’re not a Doctor Who fan, I’ll have to give you a pass on not understanding this.  But for my fellow Whovians out there… squeeeeee!!!

(Here’s a crash course… watch this, then this…)

So, not exactly weeping, but still, for that split second when we first went it, I was very excited. /endDWreferences

I don’t think we could have entered at a better time.  There were only a few clouds in the sky and the sun was beginning to set, illuminating the stained glass and bathing the church in a rainbow of color.  What a difference having a bright day makes when visiting these churches and cathedrals.

I could have sat in there until it was dark.  This trip was full of memorable moments, and this one holds a special place in my mind.

When we exited the church, the sun was setting.  The country was aglow.  We headed back into the cottage, made dinner and a fire.  Then spent the rest of our evening getting kids showered, planning the next day, and playing cards.

3 thoughts on “Lison, France

Leave a Reply

